Corduroy


Don’t kill the messenger…
February 3, 2009, 6:33 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Submissions for addition to Fashion Planet & World of SL feeds are both currently closed until further notice.

I’m really fond of Tao Takashi so it was always disheartening for me to hear unkind words about him. This was mainly due to the lack of updates to the feeds that he created and maintains. I spoke with him today about this and here is his response.

[9:51] Puma Jie: tao
[9:51] Puma Jie: how are your feeds doing?
[9:51] Puma Jie: people always are complaining
[9:51] Puma Jie: about how they can’t get on
[9:52] Tao Takashi: I know and I am sorry to say that submission is closed right now because I cannot handle it.. and helping is not really possible without a better infrastructure

Of course this is sad to hear but I don’t think he could have imagined that this would become a full-time job in itself and everyone should understand real life comes first. It’s not like he’s getting paid for this and enlisting help to keep it updated is not as easy as it seems (believe me! I’ve offered my help many times). The feeds were created ages ago and the infrastructure needs major updating before anyone could possibly help him. Tao apologies for any hard feelings caused by this and to those who have submitted their store/fashion blog urls and were not added. I enjoy looking at both feeds and hope that he doesn’t shut them down which was his other suggestion.

[9:54] Tao Takashi: I was also thinking about simply shutting it down, maybe that would even be better

To me, the feeds he created has played a huge role in SL, I know how important the feeds are to those of us who are already on it. Please be understanding and maybe in the future when Tao has time he will be able to tweak the feeds so we can get new additions added on to them.

xoxo!
Pu.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

but if someone wants on badly enough, you can get on by joining iheartsl.com i think, right? i always wondered about that, i see alot of posts from there

*hugs the feed* pleeeease noooo don’t get rid of it! that would suck

Comment by mya

yeah. since iheartsl.com is already on the feed then that should work.

Comment by corduroyshop

[…] to Tao Takashi, the current infrastructure of the Fashion Planet Feed (http://fashionplanet.worldofsl.com) cannot […]

Pingback by Shopping Cart Disco · Fashion Planet Feed on Verge of Collapsing

Ahh. I’m glad to see this post. I myself tried to get onto the feed and was a little disheartened that I never received a reply. Hearing the explanation that he’s just overwhelmed with the work it takes for the feed, and that he’s working with outdated stuff makes me understand now. I love the feed and I REALLY hope he doesn’t choose to shut it down. :(

Comment by Ona Stenvaag




Leave a Reply

